Recently Starbucks added The Iced Brown Sugar Oatmilk Shaken Expresso  to their menu. This drink has been receiving an abundance of popularity in the coffee world. I decided to try tried this drink on a spur of the moment decision, and I am so glad that I did! 

It only took one sip for me to understand the popularity behind the drink. Initially I thought that it would be extremely sweet, but to my surprise it was not. The strength of the coffee combined with the sweetness of the brown sugar created the perfect balance of  sweetness and bitterness. Even though the drink has “brown sugar”, the sweetness does not overpower the drink. You are able to taste other flavors. In fact, I got more of a cinnamon taste than any other flavor, and a subtle taste of expresso. Despite having three expresso shots added to it, it was not as strong as I thought it would be. The best way I can describe the taste of the drink is comparing it to Cinnamon Toast Crunch or an oatmeal cookie. 

I was also surprised to find out that the drink was not as unhealthy as some of the other options at Starbucks. For reference a grande Iced Brown Sugar Oatmilk Shaken Expresso is only 120 calories, in comparison to a grande vanilla latte, is 250 calories and has 35 grams of sugar. The drink is also a great option for those who are lactose intolerant, as it is made with oat milk.

Overall, I recommend those of you who have a sweet tooth and those of you who enjoy a subtle taste of expresso give it a try, for a refreshing pick me up. It is a great option for those who have dietary restrictions against lactose or want a healthy option.